That Which I Sought Was in the Wisdom Literature All Along

Today I was reminded that I do not read Ecclesiastes as often as I should.

About two years ago, I saw a cartoon in the newspaper that I perceived as mildly amusing. I clipped it out and then promptly forgot where I put it. Over the past two years, I have attempted to locate this cartoon on a fairly regular basis (at least once every couple of weeks), both in stacks of papers in my study and on the internet, but to no avail.

Today, as I was working on wisdom literature for my qualifying exams, I reached for my Bible and turned to Ecclesiastes. There, in Ecclesiastes, was the cartoon that I misplaced. The quest is over, and I found the object of my quest in the wisdom literature, so to speak.

In case you’re interested, here is the cartoon:

Leave a Reply

