A Gift from My Great-Grandfather

My great-grandfather, A. Bliek, was a pastor (Dutch Reformed) in southwestern Minnesota in the early 20th century. I don’t know much about him, to be honest. My dad remembers him vaguely, and my grandmother has never spoken of him at any length.

Recently, however, as my grandmother was clearing out her house in preparation for her move to a senior living facility, she stumbled upon an old box that belonged to Grandpa Bliek. When she opened it, she immediately handed it to my mom and said, “Eric should have this.” I have yet to really examine the contents in any depth, but a cursory examination shows that this box is going to be a LOT of fun! The box contains a collection of sermons and a couple of journals, all penned by my great-grandfather. Most of the materials are in English, but some are in Dutch, and everything in the box seems to predate 1925. What’s more, everything in this box is in stellar condition, having been shut up in a box for at least the last 50-60 years.

Over the next few months or so, I’m hoping to scan and OCR most of the materials in this box, and once I’ve brought some sort of order to the collection, I’m hoping that I can make it available in .pdf form to my family and whoever else is interested.

Until then, here are some samples from the box (click images for larger views):

Beroepingsbrief (letter of appointment) from 1909:

Some pages from a journal (sermon on Psalm 103):

A typed sermon on Hebrews 4:11:

3 thoughts on “A Gift from My Great-Grandfather

Leave a Reply

