Accordance iPhone App Introduction

I’ve had the new Accordance iPhone app for a little over 12 hours, and 8 of these have been spent sleeping…hardly enough time for an in-depth review, but plenty of time to give a brief intro to the app as well as provide a few screenshots.

For starters, here is what the opening spread looks like. The app comes with a few different modules, including the ESV translation. If you create an Accordance account, you receive a few more modules, including the ASV and the KJV. Not bad, I suppose, considering it is a free app. For more info on what is included for free, click here. The modules that you see below are synced with my Accordance account. After I registered the app with Accordance, it only took about a minute before all of my purchased apps were downloaded onto the phone.

wpid-photo1-2010-12-31-08-11.png

After you select a module (in this case, I’ve selected the Nestle-Aland Greek New Testament (GNT-T), navigating to a specific passage couldn’t be easier. The interface feels quite native to the iOS, as opposed to other Bible apps (I’m thinking of Logos here) that are difficult (in my opinion) to get around.

wpid-photo2-2010-12-31-08-11.png

If the text that you’re working with has been grammatically “tagged,” then you can reveal the parsing data of any word by simply holding your finger on it.

wpid-photo3-2010-12-31-08-11.png

You can also parallel two different translations. Here I’ve got the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (BHS-W4) paralleled with Rahlf’s Septuaginta (LXX-1). You can also, of course, parallel an English translation alongside Greek or Hebrew.

wpid-photo4-2010-12-31-08-11.png

Searching texts is pretty straight forward, although to my knowledge there is no way to search using Greek or Hebrew characters. So, you must transliterate. Not a huge deal, I suppose, but its slightly annoying.

wpid-1____photo3-2010-12-31-08-11.png

wpid-1____photo4-2010-12-31-08-11.png

If anyone from Accordance is reading this, I have only one item on my wishlist at this time: it would be really nice to be able to display a text in paragraph form, as opposed to separate verses. As it stands, the verse notations really dominate the iPhone’s small screen, and reading through a text that is separated in this way really breaks up the flow. Its a small item, but what do you think? Can we work on it?

I’m especially excited about this app because I feel as if it is going to assist me in realizing one of my New Year’s resolutions, to carry less weight by consuming less paper. Not having to bring my Greek New Testament or Hebrew Bible or NRSV everywhere I go is going to be quite nice. Although there is no replacing a nice book like the Nestle-Aland (especially when it comes to things like the Apparatus, which I don’t own for Accordance), I imagine this app will make traveling around conferences like SBL much more enjoyable (as far as the weight of one’s bag is concerned).

Leave a Reply

