The Final Countdown

It is 4:00 on Saturday afternoon, which means I have exactly 96 hours until my final paper of the semester is due. It is a dense reading of a passage from Gregory of Nyssa’s Contra Eunomium I. Here it is, if you’re interested:

(194) ἀλλ’ ἐν τοῖς προδήλοις, ἐν οἷς οὐδεμίαν ἀμφιβολίαν τὸ τῆς ὑποταγῆς σημαινόμενον ἔχει, κατὰ τίνα νοῦν ὑποτετάχθαι τὴν τοῦ πνεύματος οὐσίαν τῇ τοῦ υἱοῦ καὶ τοῦ πατρὸς ἀποφαίνεται; ὡς ὁ υἱὸς τῷ πατρὶ ὑποτάσσεται, καθὼς νοεῖ ὁ ἀπόστολος; (195) οὐκοῦν κατὰ τοῦτο συντάσσεται τῷ υἱῷ τὸ πνεῦμα, οὐχ ὑποτάσσεται, εἴπερ τὰ δύο πρόσωπα τῶν ὑποταττομένων ἐστίν;

(194) But in the obvious cases, where the meaning of subjection admits no ambiguity, in what sense can it be shown that the being of the Spirit is subject to that of the Son and the Father? As the Son is being subjected to the Father, as the Apostle thinks? (195) Surely in this respect the Spirit is aligned with the Son, not subjected to him, if the two persons are both subjected?

Interested? I didn’t think so.

A few things that I have learned in the past couple of days:

  1. Gregory of Nyssa is sometimes confusing, and doesn’t always give good reason for why he disagrees with someone.
  2. My research carrel in the library is one of the coldest indoor places in Milwaukee. Seriously, I’m bringing gloves tomorrow.
  3. Eunomius was wrong.
  4. The French will continue to confound me until the day I die.
  5. Reading Nyssa in Greek is far better than reading him in English.
  6. Writing on Nyssa’s Greek allows one to wax poetic almost indefinitely.
  7. I blog to avoid writing my papers.
  8. Papers do not write themselves.

96 hours to go…see you all on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

